What Are Graha Mantras in Astrology?

Graha mantras are special prayers people chant to placate and attain blessings from various celestial bodies. Reciting Graha mantras can benefit in overcoming the adverse effect caused by any of the nine planets. As per Vedic astrology, there are nine planets (Graha) having a profound effect on human life.

All nine planets are connected to particular qualities, energies, and life aspects. The placement of these planets at the time of your birth might affect your life and future greatly. Let us first talk about the nine planets and the special mantra associated with each.

The 9 Planets

Sun (Surya)

Moon (Chandra)

Mercury (Budha)

Mars (Mangala)

Jupiter (Brihaspati)

Saturn (Shani)

Venus (Shukra)



Impact of every planet in one’s life

The Sun

The sun symbolises power, vigour, dominance, self-assurance, and leadership. If the sun is placed right in one’s horoscope, it might result in success, recognition, and acknowledgement. On the other hand, it might cause health-related issues, a lack of confidence, and a struggling career if it is not well-placed.

The Moon

The moon is a representation of instinct, feelings, and progress. It even symbolises a subconscious mind. A well-positioned moon in a person’s natal chart might bring emotional stability, creativity, and prosperity to artistic jobs. But, if it is in a bad position, it may cause emotional imbalance, mental health problems, mood swings, and much more.


The planet Mercury is a symbol of intelligence, logical skills, and communication. Strong mercury may result in success in education and business. It can also bring prosperity in related fields that demand sound analytical and communication abilities. Weak or malefic mercury may result in speech issues, miscommunication, and learning incapacities.


The planet Mars is a symbol of strength, courage, aggression, and vigour. If this planet is placed in a good position in your birth chart, it may bring success in various competitive fields, such as sports and the military. But, if it is weak, there may be chances of accidents, health issues, and quarrels in both professional and personal life.


Venus signifies art, love, beauty, and luxury. Placing well in your natal chart might lead to success in creative professions and romantic relationships. In contrast, you may suffer love-life problems, monetary losses, and health issues associated with reproductive organs due to a weak Venus.


Saturn or Shani represents discipline, hard work, and karmic lessons. If this planet is well-placed in your natal chart, you may attain success with your discipline and hard work. A weak Saturn may result in struggles, postponements, and obstructions in career and personal relationships.


The planet Jupiter is a symbol of knowledge, wisdom, and affluence. A well-positioned Jupiter can result in success in higher education, financial prosperity, and religiousness. On the other hand, a malefic Jupiter can bring monetary losses, quarrels in personal and professional life, and a lack of opportunities.


The planet Rahu is a representation of desires and worldly pleasures. If the Rahu in one’s birth chart is in a promising position, there would be better chances of material affluence and financial success. A malefic Rahu may result in struggles in both professional and personal life, trickery, and obsession.


Ketu signifies detachment, religiousness, and karmic lessons. If Ketu is in a favourable position in your natal chart, it may lead to detachment from worldly pleasures and spiritual progression. A malefic Ketu may result in a struggling career and personal relationships, misunderstanding, and lack of direction.

Graha Mantras to Appease the Nine Planets

We have already mentioned earlier that Graha mantras are special prayers or Vedic hymns like with every planet in astrology. It is deemed that reciting these prayers can aid in lowering the adverse effects of the nine planets and may bring good luck. Here is a list of mantras for every planet.

  1. Sun: Om hraam hreem hraum sah suryaaya namah (recite at least 6000 times in 40 days during Mahadasha of Sun).
  2. Moon: Om shraam shreem shroum sah chandraya namah (recite 10000 times in 40 days during Mahadasha of Moon).
  3. Mars: Om Kraam Kreem Kraum sah bhaumaya namah (recite at least 7000 times in 40 days during Mangal Mahadasha).
  4. Mercury: Om Braam Breem braum sah budhaaya namah (recite at least 17000 times in 40 days during Mahadasha of Mercury).
  5. Jupiter: Om graam greem graum sah gurave namah (recite 16000 times in 40 days during Mahadasha of Jupiter).
  6. Venus: Om draam dreem draum sah shukraya namah (recite 20000 times in 40 days during Mahadasha of Shukra).
  7. Saturn: Om praam preem praum sah shanaishcharaaya namah (recite 19000 times in 40 days during Mahadasha of Shani).
  8. Rahu: Om bhraam bhreem bhraum sah rahave namah (recite 18000 times in 40 days during Mahadasha of Rahu).
  9. Ketu: Om sraam sreem sraum sah ketave namah (recite 7000 times in 40 days during Mahadasha of Ketu).

Final Words

We briefly covered the nine planets and how they affect a person’s life. Check out the best astrology app and ask astrologer about remedies you can use to lower the effects of certain planets.